top of page


  • Storage & Handling Ingredients:
    All ingredients used at the facility must be thoroughly logged and submitted in the list of raw materials, which should always be pre-approved by the rabbinical advisor at the kosher agency certifying the facility. If the ingredients are kosher certified, it is important to submit the digital copies of the kosher certificates to TKS. This information must be updated annually upon the yearly renewal of the kosher certificate by TKS. If there are any non-kosher ingredients used in a separate production line, but located at the same plant, the ingredients must be kept and stored with clear separation from ingredients used for kosher production lines. There should be absolutely no risk of contamination of ingredients that are kosher or not kosher, from the receiving, storage and production stages. For certain plants that produce both kosher Dairy and Pareve goods, the ingredients for Dairy must also be stored and handled separately. It is important to consult with the rabbinical advisor if there is any risk of contamination at the facility in order to avoid any issues with the kosher certification.
  • Sourcing & Purchasing New Ingredients:
    Before purchasing any new ingredients and implementing usage at the facility, it is important to contact the rabbinical advisor at the kosher agency to confirm that the ingredients and suppliers are approved according to kosher laws and the designated kosher status of the facility. Certain ingredients will require kosher certification, and must be certified to meet the kosher status held at the facility certified by TKS. For example, Passover certified facilities must ensure that all ingredients are compliant or properly certified for Passover as to ensure that there is no contamination, which may affect the kosher status.
  • Use of Steam in Production Lines:
    The use of steam in the production lines could potentially cause contamination and void the kosher status at a facility. If a facility produces both “Not for Passover” and “Passover” items, the steam lines must also be separated, as Passover laws restrict the use of several ingredients that are used in Not for Passover production lines. Sharing of steam between “Dairy” and “Pareve” are not accepted. Any contamination of steam between non-kosher and kosher production lines are also prohibited. If unsure, please always identify any concerns and consult with the rabbinical advisor to avoid problems with the kosher certification.
  • Separation of Pareve, Meat & Dairy:"
    The kosher consumer must always be informed of the kosher status of a product, as separation of meat and dairy is a strict requirement for kosher consumption and keeping a kosher kitchen, according to Jewish dietary laws. A kosher kitchen is required to have separate tableware, cutlery, sinks, time of consumption (cannot be consumed at the same meal) and storage between meat and dairy, as it is restricted to have any contamination during consumption and in a kosher house. “Pareve” (translates to “neutral” in English) indicates that the product was prepared without meat, milk, or their derivatives and therefore approved to be consumed with both meat and dairy dishes according to kosher dietary laws. It is important to take note that this does not guarantee the product is free of fish, eggs, or honey.
  • Pareve / Not for Passover:
    There are always 2 parts to the kosher status, the first indicator is to identify the categorization between separation of Dairy, Meat, or Neutral - Pareve, while the second indicates the seasonality (Passover or Non-Passover). If the product is labeled with the “Not for Passover” status, then that product is suitable for consumption, except during the Passover festival (check Jewish calendar to find the corresponding dates on the Gregorian calendar).
  • Pareve / Passover:
    “Passover” is a Jewish festival that is celebrated each year, in which dietary rules restrict the use of grains that can ferment and become leavened. These grains are wheat, barley, spelt, oats and rye. In order for an item to be kosher for Passover it must be free of any grain, leavening substances, or starchy legumes and vegetables, as well as any derivatives of such products. Products certified for Passover can be consumed all year-round. For example, Sunflower Oil is not kosher for Passover because it is derived and obtained from Soya Beans, which are part of the starchy legume vegetables category, and is not kosher for Passover. Same for canola, rapeseed, sunflower, corn oil, etc. Any equipment that processes the above-mentioned ingredients cannot be used for Passover production. Every ingredient must be approved by the rabbinical advisor prior to being used in the production process to avoid any mistakes or errors, and ingredients should be kosher certified for Passover.
  • Dairy (Chalav Stam):
    This kosher status is given for any and all products that contain dairy ingredients, or are processed with equipment used in dairy lines. “Chalav Stam” translates to “plain milk” in English. The production may or may not be supervised by a rabbi, but is generally labeled as a dairy product to avoid any contamination with meat consumption.
  • Additives:
    This refers to all hidden ingredients or processing aids, including emulsifiers/stabilizers, preservatives, shortening, antioxidants, gelling agents, derivatives, coloring, artificial flavoring, etc. It is important to list all ingredients that are used in the manufacturing process, from start to finish, so that the product can be properly evaluated for kosher certification. It is possible that a kosher status may be voided or inapplicable if a problematic hidden ingredient was not properly disclosed prior to use, which is why it is always important to fully disclose all raw materials and seek advice for any uncertainties there might be regarding the use of kosher approved materials.
  • Alcohols:
    Fruit derived alcohols can only be handled and bottled entirely by Jewish experts, and must be carefully supervised by a “mashgiach” (an officially appointed kosher supervisor). Any good that is processed the same production line or contains ingredients such as grape juice, wine, brandy, or other alcohols that are derived from fruits must be declared during the application process. Such ingredients can potentially affect the kosher status of a facility and it is important to always consult with our rabbis before implementing use in any kosher certified plants. Certain alcohols for general consumption that pass fermentation or use grains (wheat, barley, spelt, oats and rye) and other starches at any stage of production are not suitable for Passover. Due to the complexity and delicate rules surrounding alcohols for kosher consumption and production, any use of such ingredients must always be clearly identified to the rabbinical advisor overseeing kosher certification at the facility.
  • Wines and Grape Products:
    There are very strict and complex rules surrounding the use of wine and grapes according to Jewish laws. Due to the significance and use in religious customs, kosher wine and grape juice must only be handled and manufactured by Jews throughout all stages of production. A mashgiach must always be present to supervise the production of kosher wines and grape juices. This law is important for production facilities to understand that any grape derived ingredients may be problematic towards kosher certification. Always consult with the rabbinical advisor before the use of, or possible contamination with any ingredients that do contain traces of wines and grape products.
  • Fish:
    Jewish law strictly prohibits the consumption of any shellfish, crustaceans and fish that do not have fins and scales. During the production and canning of any fish derived product, it required to have a mashgiach on site to supervise the operations. This will ensure that the product has not been compromised or contaminated in any way that might affect the kosher status.
  • Bulk Shipments:
    Bulk shipments are generally issued separately from the yearly kosher certificate at an additional fee. This is because the tanks must be properly evaluated and certified on an individual basis in order to be deemed suitable for transporting kosher certified commodities. For each new shipment, it is important to identify the kosher commodity to be transported, as well as the last three cargoes in which the tanks contained. Other required documents such as cleaning certificates and declaration letters will differ between the various types of tanks (ISO, vessel, shore or lorry tankers). For information regarding the process to apply for kosher certification of a specific type of bulk shipment, please contact your rabbinical advisor or our administrative representative to learn more.
  • Co-packer Certificates and Private Label Agreements:
    Our office must always be informed of any third-party use of the kosher logo prior to implementation. A separate agreement must be issued to ensure that the third-party will fully comply with the terms of use of the kosher logo. The period of certification for co-packer certificates and private label agreements will expire on the same date as the yearly kosher certificate of the manufacturing facility.
  • Kosher Audits:
    Each kosher certified facility must be audited by our appointed rabbis. The number of visits per year will be determined and stated in the agreement after receiving the new application for kosher certification. The raw materials, production lines, steam lines, bulk shipment records and other important aspects of operations will be checked during the visit to ensure that all kosher standards of practice are met. Any issues found during the visit will be identified and highlighted to both the staff and rabbinical advisor in order to resolve any concerns towards certification. The facility audits are carried out to ensure that the highest standards of practices are kept and implemented to meet all kosher certification requirements.
  • Certification Period:
    The maximum term for a kosher certificate has a validity period of up to one year. Upon the renewal of the yearly certificate, every facility is required to submit an updated list of raw materials, other supporting documents and also re-sign the kosher agreement. This is a standard of practice that ensures full compliance with kosher laws are maintained and kept to carry out the next term of certification.
bottom of page